Europe consists of 50 sovereign states.  7  unsovereign territories, 4 partially recognized, 2 unrecognized territories. 

Now, I had written this location of the month entry, and was almost ready to post, but I thought I knew of a few more European countries, that weren’t listed in the book I was getting information from. (copyrighted 2006)  So, I went to the trusty internet  just to verify my concerns, and found out that the 25 countries I was about to write about as “Europe” has grown to 50.  So, I’m doing a re-write.

I wanted to pass on some information on the lesser known Eastern European countries, and I learned that there are too many for me to write about in the 8 1/2 months I have before I go on my trip.  Well, at least I learned something.  So I’m passing on the abbreviated version of my limited knowledge, and may drop a few tidbits here and there, so we won’t be totally ignorant.

Let’s talk about the European Union (EU), these are the countries that as Americans we are probably most familar with.  The EU is made up of 27 sovereign member states; Austria, Belguim, Bulgaria, Cypress, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the UK (aka, Great Britain, England).

Western Europe is still my focus so here are some facts;

France has the most land mast

Germany has the most people

Greece is the farthest East

Luxembourg is the smallest and the richest

Spain most fun and has the highest unemployment

So, on that note let me end this post with some recent pictures from my Friend Alex who is now living in Spain.

See you Tuesday, for air fare prices

Sevilla, Spain