As the fabulous high speed Eurostar train slows from it’s top speed of 186 mph to pull into the Gare du Nord train station, the city of Paris comes into view.  The time is 7:47 p.m. and it’s Thursday Night.  

I take the Metro (subway) to the  7e neighborhood, tucked into a wide arc of the Seine river, and the section of town that is home to the Eiffel Tower.  When I come up from underground, the city is a buzz with lights and traffic.  As I spend my one moment looking like a tourist.  I simply stand in awe and turn around.  The Effiel tower, an  ever present focal point in the sky is near by.  I am so tempted to head in that direction to get my night shot, a scavenger hunt list items.  Why not it’s too early to go to sleep.

I continue on and head to my hotel to check in.  The Hotel du Champ de Mars  looks charming with it’s winding staircase and colorful decore.    “Bonjour”, the desk clerk responds in kind as she verifies my reservation.  I hurry to my room to change, and head to “Le Petite Journal Saint-Michel” a jazz club where, I also have a 10 o’clock dinner reservation.

Tomorrow I will stroll down Champs-Elysees  (See tomorrows blog  “Strolling in Paris” ), get Pictures of  the Louvre, and find a great Cafe to pick up breakfast for my trip to Versaille the next day.

Sunday – I head to Versaille – to spend a day at the Sun King’s Palace.  I rise early and head to whatever pastry shop I’ve found in the past two days to get my picnic lunch.  Then I head to the RER C line which will take me to Versaille and is free with my Eurorail pass. I purchased my ticket on-line, which allows me to not have to wait in line to enter the palce.  Then a day of strolling through the gardens, eploring the palace, wandering the State Apartments and viewing the Hall of Mirrors.

Some highlights of my remaining days in Paris will be looking for that special place to have lunch or dinner, exploring some of the market places, and visiting the perfume factory.   Check in the next 2 days for other articles on Paris:  Strolling n Paris, The Best of Paris, and Versaille Place of the Sun King.

