. . . . . . .So now let’s fast forward to about February 15th and look at how those Travel Plans are progressing.

Charlotte, NC

The first trip of my 2012 travel year, I am affectionately calling my East Coast Road trip. I going to do this one European style, with my back pack, no hotels,  just friends, family,  buses and trains.   I’m starting in Charlotte, where I have friends. I began to search the internet for things to do, place to see, and D-D&D’s to eat at, in Charlotte.

Some of the interesting things I found was a cooking class in March at Mimosa Grill.  I found 4 potential D-D&D’s to visit.  DISH – for the Salmon Patties, Landmark Restaurant – for the Spinach Pie, Cabo Fish Taco – for the BBQ Mahi Tacos, and BBQ King – for BBQ Fried Chicken.

Childress Winery, is north of Charlotte in Lexington, NC.  I always love a good wine tour, and I figured on my way north to Washington, this would be a good place to stop.

My Daughter lives in DC, and is a wine lover as well.  So that part of the trip I’m leaving to her.  She can show me around her new city. If not it’s the capital!  It’s been a few years since I last visited, but of course there is plenty of the obvious tourist choices to see.  My only requirement is that I hit one D-D&D while there.

Then we plan to drive or catch the Mega Bus up to Philadelphia – the city of her birth, and one I haven’t been back to in over 20 years.

I always liked Philly!  It is a great city, much diversity, plenty to do, and food that is unique only to them.  Others may imitate but nothing is as good as the authentic original.

In addition to checking out some of my old haunts, I look forward to seeing some old friends, trying so new places, and reacquainting myself with the City of Brotherly Love.

I’m getting excited just writing about the possibilities – Now let’s see if I can make it happen!

